A Package of Feelings

“Turn it off,” she said as she stormed into the room. “Turn it all off, please.”

“Turn what off?” I looked at her, puzzled.

“Feelings,” she hissed through gritted teeth. “Just take them away.”

I put away the book I had been reading and focused my full attention on her.

“Why would you want to turn them off?”

“I hate feelings,” she said, screwing up her face in disgust. “They hurt. They suck you in like a black hole.”

Oh, my little girl. Such a rebel she was. She evidently took after me.

“Not all of them hurt,” I noticed. “There are things like joy, happiness, love… All of them full of bright colors and shining lights. Would you like to get rid of those, too?”

She glared at me.

“Those are even more painful.”

“Well, that’s an interesting point of view.”

“Stop being sarcastic with me!” she exploded, shifting impatiently.

I put my hands up, trying not to laugh.

“Okay, okay. I’m listening.”

She took a deep breath and went on.

“They’re painful because they don’t last. They’re fragile and no matter what you do, they have to be broken eventually. You have to be broken. You and your stupid, naive heart.” She spat out her words quickly, as if they were burning her throat and she had to get rid of them as fast as possible. “All the good things, they fade away and all you’re left with in the end is a poor-quality memory. And you try your hardest to keep it alive and you ache to bring it back, live it again, but it never works that way. Feelings are so overrated.”

There was something furious about her eyes as she spoke and I almost smiled, because I recognized that very well.

“You do have a point here,” I admitted. “Positive and negative feelings come in a package. You can’t get one without the other. And neither of them lasts for too long. The bad things seem to weigh on your shoulders and drag you down further and further with every minute that goes by, but they pass, too. And the good ones… ain’t they worth the struggle?”

She sighed heavily.

“That’s what I’ve been telling myself for ages, you know? I’ve tried to hold on to the thought that all the hurt will be over soon and better days are just around the corner. But it takes too much to get to that friggin’ corner,” she said.

“But if you don’ try, you’ll never know what might be waiting for you there.”

“Oh, don’t you get it?!” she nearly screamed, clearly frustrated. “I don’t want to try anymore! All I want on this goddamn planet is to switch it all off. Or at least pause it for a while. I need to catch my breath. And maybe look for some sort of solution in the spare time. But I need to get rid of all the damn feelings. They’re eating me alive.”

Now I sighed. Little did she know about life.

However, she reminded me of myself when I was young. Young and still so dumb. I fought my own wars and cried for something I could never have, complained about things I couldn’t change and refused to accept life as it was.

It took me so long to realize that life wasn’t just a game or a movie you watched, sitting safely in your armchair and eating popcorn. It didn’t have a remote control with a button you could press if you wanted to pause, fast-forward or skip a scene. You didn’t get to choose if you wanted to be a part of that movie or whether you wanted to play that game.

Although you did have some say in whether you played the main role, ended up as a winner or a loser. But there was no easy way out and no shortcuts. Once your role was assigned to you, you’d be playing it till the end.

“There’s nothing you can do, sweetheart,” I said softly. “We all feel things. It’s exactly what makes us human. Feelings bring such beauty to our lives and maybe you can’t see it now, but you will one day. And for now, just hold on. If you need to cry or scream, do it. Cry till you run out of tears and scream till your voice is gone. Let it all out.”

She rolled her eyes, but didn’t interrupt me. Maybe my words would bounce off her and she would remain stubborn as always, or perhaps, she’d learn her lesson, just like I learned mine years ago. There was nothing much I could do for her. She had to go through that alone. And I knew for sure she was strong enough to get by just fine.

“There’s no escape, honey, so don’t be a coward. Stand up and fight instead of running away. Face the pain instead of looking for a way to make yourself numb. No matter how many times you fall, get up and try again. You have to try and brace yourself for the better things to come. Because, I promise you, it’s all worth it in the end.”

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow. You said a lot in there. Once again, you kept my attention. The writing was terse and to the point. You held my interest both for the adult’s point of view as well as the younger person’s. Good writing. I found myself wanting the older person to be just a little bit more empathetic towards younger one, although the point she was making was well taken.

    I often find myself wanting, and taking some time out from all the different feelings I have, just to let them percolate, settle, and process. Sometimes feelings are overwhelming, and taking a break from them is important. At least, that’s the way I feel.

    I’ve also learned several years ago, but way too late in my life, that feelings aren’t facts and, although I can have feelings – I also have to have the facts. Most of the time, the feelings have to settle down before I can really see the facts For what they are.

    I hate to say this, but it’s always “One foot in front of the other one”, “One step at a time”, and yuck, “time takes time”. I do like the expression, it’s “baby steps”.

    You must’ve done a great job to evoke all these responses in me. Consider that a nice compliment.
    Thanks,
    Randy

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Thank you very much, Randy, for everything you said here. It makes me really happy to know that my writing provoked these thoughts in you. This is the biggest praise for me.
      Thanks again!

  2. It is worth it in the end, though I am certainly not sure I am at the end. Where I am now is in a place of much more acceptance. I can more accept what life throws my way and just live through it and with it. It is a beautiful life this way and much more calm.
    Scott

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Oh yeah, it’s worth it from the beginning, throughout the middle and to the very end – when you sit in a rocking chair and take a look back at your life, and you can really say that you’re proud of yourself for just holding on and getting through that mess.
      It surely is a beautiful life. Even with all the tricky feelings that often get in the way.

      Thanks (as always) for stopping by and reading!

      1. Yes, and thanks for looking at mine as well.
        Scott

  3. Your writing is truly phenomenal. I’m in awe.

    1. mrsreckless says:

      I’m really happy to hear these words from you. Thank you, Coco!

Leave a Reply

