Gone

tumblr_llonlhdr8Y1qhiy3po1_500
I haven’t left yet, but I feel like I’m already gone.

We’re both here, but the here I’m at and the here you’re at are not the same place.

Say something. Anything. I’m desperate for your voice.

Can you still hear me? I used to be your favourite tune, the song stuck on repeat, the soundtrack of your life.

Our life.

Our hearts, synchronised, used to pound to the same crazy rhythm.

Your arms used to be my home. My shelter. My safe haven. Now they lie limply by your sides when you’re asleep.

So goddamn peaceful.

I watch your eyelids twitch while you’re dreaming. And even when you’re dreaming without me, it’s still hard to leave.

It’s still hard to leave, even when I’m already gone.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Joy Pixley says:

    Ah yes, I’ve been there, and you capture it so beautifully, and so horribly.

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Thank you for reading!

  2. drowningsoul says:

    Love this, amazing piece.

  3. Ranting Crow says:

    And so memories play on…

  4. shetty25 says:

    This is so beautiful!

  5. New to your blog and am already a fan. Love the layout and the vibe. Curious to know, which theme do you use?

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Hi, thank you! I’m glad you like it. I use the ‘Gateway’ theme.

  6. Diana says:

    I’ve a physical ache in my chest from this. Your talent runs deep.:)

    1. mrsreckless says:

      I shouldn’t feel pleased by causing you pain, but I kinda do… Haha! Seriously though, it’s crazy that my words can make anyone feel anything. Thank you!

  7. Diana says:

    Because you write with so much emotion – the ache is welcome because it means I’m engaged. I want to feel something; it’s a sign of connection between author and reader. Fabulous! 😊

Leave a Reply

