Personal Update: University & Big City Life

Hello my dear Readers (if I still have any),

this is to quickly inform you that yes, I’m still alive and no, I have not abandoned this  blog, even though I have been absent for almost a month.

The past few weeks have been insane. After I returned from the Netherlands in mid-September, I was extremely busy with moving out and settling in my new place. And then, with the beginning of October, from my carefree teenage life, I basically jumped straight into adulthood. Which was a bit of a shock.

The funniest thing is, when I was starting high school three years ago, I was completely paralysed with fear. So accordingly, I expected my going to University to be a freaking disaster.

Well? To my surprise, everything is absolutely fine. After my third week, I can honestly say that I chose my studies well. I would be miserable studying anything other than English.

And I totally love how University is so much different from high school. Somehow, people are more mature there. I guess everyone is more aware of what they’re there for.

I’m also impressed with how seamlessly–having been a small town girl my entire life–I adapted to living in a big city. I found my way around easily and I think I can honestly say I like it there. I really do. I like the sense of anonymity offered by a big city. I like the fact that I don’t have to worry about who I might meet every time I leave home. I like the fact that I can go out and just disappear in the crowd… Is that weird?

So yeah. Uni? No big deal. Living in a big city? Piece of cake.

Then what on earth is the damn feeling I cannot shake? Is it homesickness? Being at the other end of the country? But I’ve been visiting home every weekend. Is it the missing? But I’ve been keeping in touch with my family 24/7. Is it loneliness? But I’m among people every single day and I’ve got awesome friends that don’t let me feel lonely. Is it that no one’s waiting for me when I come back to my flat after I’ve finished classes? But I’ve always liked being alone. So what the hell is it?

Maybe it’s the responsibility that overwhelms me. The fact that I am the one who takes care of me now. That I have to make sure that the fridge is not empty, do the laundry in order to have clothes to put on, keep the flat clean, try not to burn the entire block down when I cook dinner…

It is a whole new thing for me, but I know I will get used to it. I have so much more confidence in me than I had, let’s say, those three years ago.

And when I finally get used to it and get more ogranized, then hopefully I’ll find the time to put some words together and write something decent enough for you to enjoy.

And that would be all for now.

Thank you for reading & I hope you’re still there whenever I’m ready to post a new piece.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Kate.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ranting Crow says:

    So how were the Netherlands. was it everything the grape vine said before.
    The bridge between adulthood and having been a teen crosses a big gap. glad you made it across sane.

    Smile it suits us best.

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Sorry for the super late reply! The Netherlands were amazing, I definitely wasn’t disappointed. I wouldn’t want to live in Amsterdam, though. It’s way too busy for my liking.
      Adulthood sucks! But at least University is not that bad.
      Thank you for stopping by!

      1. Ranting Crow says:

        Don’t sweat it… Life is life.
        Amsterdam does suck
        Utrecht is nice or more southern but the Universities aren’t all there.
        It was a pleasure.. hope all is well

Leave a Reply

