You Have Reached Your Destination

photo-1428379047360-530142c0e178

“You have reached your destination. Please remember to collect your luggage and personal belongings. Thank you for choosing to travel with us. We wish you a pleasant stay.”

Destination?

Travel?

I looked around, my mind in a daze.

What is that smell?

Stuffy. And sweaty. Some other bodies kept fidgeting in the small cage.

“Excuse me?”

Zero reaction. I felt the panic rise in me.

I got up, as others did, even though I didn’t remember ever getting into the seat.

A train? How did I end up on a train?

I swallowed hard. My memory was blank.

There is a large gap between the steps and the platform. You’ve gotta be careful.

I stepped out.

Clouds of dust were hovering in the air, and the air seemed to be lacking in oxygen. I tried a few deep breaths but they came with no relief.

A railway station?

A female voice sounded over the loudspeakers, but I couldn’t make out what the message was.

I thought I could feel my heart beatng in my fingertips.

Passengers still spilled out of the train and I wondered how on earth did they all fit, the tight crowd of bodies with no faces that swarmed all over the platform, each of them headed in a different direction.

I stopped one of them.

“Excuse me?” I didn’t know where you’re supposed to look when you’re talking to someone who doesn’t have a face. “What is this place?”

The answer I got: a fit of manic laughter. Then he left without a word.

I asked another one.

“Could you tell me wh–”

“Gee, you talk so much! Child, there’s no composition to your endless blabber! Have you reached your conclusion yet?”

“Conclusion… But I was–”

“I don’t care what you were, tell me what you are,” he scolded. “Are you a writer? How do you write?”

How did he–

Confused as I was, I fumbled in my back pocket for a ready-made answer.

“Here.”

The Guide on How to Write in 10 Easy Steps

  1. pretend you’re inspired
  2. pick up the most absurd thought and treat it as if it’s the truest of truths
  3. stand in the shower for half an hour
  4. watch the absurdity evolve in your head
  5. feel guilty about wasting so much water
  6. sprint out of the shower and writewritewrite till your fingertips bleed
  7. doubt everything you’ve ever done
  8. hate yourself
  9. reach the conclusion: you suck
  10. never write again

Never write again, you’re not making any sense.

I look around, my mind in a haze.

The shower’s still running, my skin red from the hot water.

Steam is hovering in the air, and the air seems to be lacking in oxygen.

I look in the mirror. My face is a blur. So is the inside of my head.

Have I reached my conclusion?

Don’t get on the Train of Thought at 2AM.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I LOVE THIS. I couldn’t stop reading once I started because of the mystery!!! Such an unexpected ending hahah

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Thank you so much! I’m pleased to hear that! And well, I wasn’t expecting that either 😉

  2. LeTaraWrites says:

    That’s exactly how it is sometimes being lost in your own thoughts! Great read!

    1. mrsreckless says:

      It’s amazing (and weird) where your thoughts can take you sometimes. Thank you!

  3. amileinmyshoes says:

    This was good and held the reader to the end. Loved where it went and your 10 easy steps made me smile 🙂

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Thank you! The 10 steps were my favourite part too 🙂

  4. narutomath96 says:

    Oh my, what a nice post to read 🙂 It’s really interesting to talk about “destination in thoughts” with such a riddle like this 😀 I love it ^^

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  5. Ms Skyfall says:

    Amazing writing…. I mean…. Wow… Really….

Leave a Reply

