Last Night on Earth

photo-1443428018053-13da55589fed

We wandered for miles. Harsh air collided with my skin, my feet stepped on waterlogged ground. Black clouds devoured what we used to call our home. Sudden downpours came unannounced, a reminder of our impermanence.

People spread in all directions, still naive enough to think they could escape the dust dense like fog. Uncertainty chilled the lungs of those who stayed.

Not a word slid down our parched tongues. Silence echoed in my ears, as if it had become an unwritten rule none of us dared to break. A sky thick with stars threatened to fall on us. I remember the fear in your eyes and how hard I tried to hide my own terror.

We walked through the barren fields. I gripped your fingers as we reached the top of the hill, where a single tree grew. We sat and leaned against its solid trunk, and watched the moon shine through the leafless branches.

Perhaps the last full moon we’d ever see.

I plucked up the courage to look at your face, pale in the moonlight, and saw a tear running down your cheek. We cried for the life we once knew.

I was scared of what tomorrow would bring, if there would be a tomorrow. But I confess, I didn’t care for the earth under my feet, or if the moon crashed on my head. I was sick with the feeling that tonight I was seeing your face for the last time.

We lay limply in the grass and listened to each other breathe. I could feel your uneasy heartbeat next to mine. The sky was about to fall.

We woke up in the middle of the end, where the ashes fell delicate like snowflakes. I felt for your hand.

We saw a new sunrise.


This is a repost of something I wrote back in 2012. Well, not exactly a repost, since I cut out a half of the original post. I think I like this one better, although I’ll probably look at it in another four years and hate it. (By four years I really mean four hours.)
Also, this happens to be my 100th post. I’m off to celebrate!
8 Comments Add yours

  1. Anna says:

    Congrats on hitting the 100th post! See you after the celebration 😉

  2. lemonadeletter says:

    “We woke up in the middle of the end, where the ashes fell delicate like snowflakes.” This is so beautifully haunting; I love it so much! ❤ Happy 100th post! 😀

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it ❤️

  3. Diana says:

    I came here drawn by the title, and what a great little read. I might just be forming a slight addiction to your writing style. All healthy I assure you 🙂

    1. mrsreckless says:

      This might be one of the best compliments I’ve ever received 😀 I wasn’t even aware of having a “style.” Your comments honestly made my day ❤️

      1. Diana says:

        I think you really have something! May your day be filled with the pearls you honestly deserve 😊

      2. mrsreckless says:

        Thanks again, Diana! I hope your day is as bright as mine 😊

Leave a Reply

