Gone #2

rnr12i78sfo-krista-mangulsone

I woke up gone from the present
and present in the past

you disappeared so fast
but a part of me still lingers
on the shelf above your bed

I woke up gone from my head
but still
when I left
a part of me stayed against my own will

I woke up with you gone from my future
and I’m fine
I don’t allow myself to miss you
most of the time

I woke up gone
detached from myself
I’m somewhere else
with someone else’s thoughts

I woke up gone
and yet still somewhere
life continues
with us gone from each other


I was reading my old post titled Gone and then (coincidence?) today’s prompt came up and, as a result, this nonsense wrote itself. Enjoy.
PS. I hope you had a happy entrance into the new year!
One thought on “Gone #2

Leave a Reply

