Instagram: yes/no?

Recently I’ve read a lot about social media for writers and decided to give it a go. It seems like a quick and easy way to spread my writing all over the Internet and make everybody love me.

Yeah, right.

What do you guys think? Good idea/bad idea?

Are you on Instagram? Do you use it for your writing? Let me know in the comments, I’d love to follow you!

I have no idea whether or not this will work for me, so it’s just a trial period. You can find me here -> @mrsrecklesswrites

13 thoughts on “Instagram: yes/no?

  1. A week or so ago, I shared a portion of some writing pieces I did on Instagram. The photo was intended for certain family members. I tagged the images appropriately and sent them on their way. I was surprised by the response I got from fellow writers and artists on those particular posts, and the attention did direct some additional traffic to my page.

    Give it a try for sure. Try using tags such as #amwriting #writing #amwriting(genre) and #(genre). That seemed to be what drew in my initial traffic.

    1. I’ve been debating Instagram myself, and would love to get your opinion after you’ve been on a bit. Is it another good way to promote yourself, or an additional time suck?

      1. The thing with social media is that they can very easily become a time suck. But I’ve seen a lot of people posting their writing on Instagram and I guess it won’t hurt to try 🙂

  2. I don’t use Instagram, and it never occurred to me that I could use it to promote my writing. I am probably the wrong person to ask, just because I feel more and more isolated I am scaling back on my use of the Social Media by de-activating Facebook and cancelling Twitter but that’s more for social reasons not for any other. I say, why not give it a shot, if you don’t like it, you can always deleted it, right? My two cents worth. Peace, Harlon

  3. Instagram is filled with writers but it’s becoming more of a smother lately. Everyone’s crowding in, I mean even the ones who barely have any interest in literature. I’ve never given it a go but yes, this I’ve known that keeping a writing account merged with your personal one is probably not a good idea.
    I do expect though that your work over there would be the one that stands out. It’s the kind that blows a person away and yes, I would love to check such an account (going right after posting this actually).

    1. Wow, so many compliments, thank you! There’s not much to see on my account yet and I don’t know if I’m going to keep it up. Competing for likes and followers seems a bit overwhelming, but we’ll see how it works out. My main focus remains on this blog, obviously.

Leave a Reply

