Gate

jason-blackeye-198848
Photo by Jason Blackeye on Unsplash

The gate to my creativity has been shut long ago. Schools taught me to stick to patterns, to think in a certain way, not to be – heaven forbid – too original. For some time I cultivated creativity on my own, in the safety of my four walls, closed off from the world and the teachers who’d say I was not allowed to have this type of thoughts. I hid them well in my drawer, for no one to see but me.

So what happened to my creativity then? Where is it now? What about the creations locked in the drawer? Well, I suppose they withered away, unseen, unnourished, forgotten. They died and I let them. I did what I was told and tried my best to ignore the unwelcome thoughts. It didn’t work out too well, but I ignored that too. “That’s for the better,” I told myself. That was the first excuse. Then came the others. “I don’t have time.” “I’m not feeling inspired.” “That’s a stupid idea.” “I’m not good enough.” “I have more serious stuff to deal with.” Sounds familiar? I bet it does.

And now? Now I wish I could find the keys to the rusty gate, but they must be buried somewhere along with all the dead creations in my bottom drawer. Never to be retrieved.

Or am I making excuses again?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. You’re making excuses again. I know because I do it all the time. I have for over 20 years. Until today’s prompt, and, I hope, no longer. I like your site and am going to follow for a while. I hope you’ll check my blog out, especially my response to this prompt, “Morning Flight”, and let me know what you think.

    Take care, be well, and keep blogging,

    Denny

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Thank you for your kind comment. Why is it so hard to sit down and write if it’s all you can think about? I’ll never know. I haven’t been around for a while, but I want to be more consistent with my posts. Will I succeed? We’ll see.

  2. leigha66 says:

    Good use of the prompt gate… writer’s block is awful!

    1. mrsreckless says:

      Thank you! Isn’t writer’s block a myth, though? Just another excuse…

Leave a Reply

