Routines, To-Do Lists and Goals

thomas-martinsen-2443.jpg
Photo by Thomas Martinsen on Unsplash

“I got myself yet another notebook,” I say, then quickly glance up to scan your face. I hope this makes you proud. “I’ve been doing my homework. I’ve kept my word and sat down to write five days in a row.”

“Good for you.” No fireworks, standing ovation, champagne.

“I’m doing really well. I sleep better, practise yoga every day…”

“That’s great.” Was that a yawn?

“But I don’t know why I’m doing this at all,” I admit as I examine the soil beneath my feet. I can’t feel it through the soles of my shoes. “Am I doing all this because I truly want to, because it hurts not to, because it makes me whole… or to cross off another thing on my to-do list and move on to the next goal?”

“Oh, stop moaning. At least you’re getting shit done.”


Personal note: I really don’t know where I want to go with this blog. I want to write, but I don’t know what to write. I’m stuck. Should I just write my thoughts as they come without worrying too much about the form? This feels tempting, but isn’t it the stuff I should save for my crappy journal? Also, I want a simpler theme and a new “about” page, but that’ll have to wait. I’m making excuses AGAIN.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. DGGYST says:

    You have a great voice with this blog, just keep writing everything down, put it out there!

    1. mrsreckless says:

      That’s reassuring. Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

